79th Anniversary


J Riddet

List of Toasts Proposed

I. The King

The Chairman

Song. "God save the King"

The Company

II. The Queen, Prince & Princess of Wales, and other Members of the Royal Family

The Chairman

III. Both Houses of Parliament

Mr Patrick

IV. The Imperial Forces

Mr Wylie

Song. "Scots wha ha'e"

Mr Spence


Capt McCosh

V. The Memory of Burns

The Chairman

Song. "There was a lad"

Mr Buchanan

Song. "The Lass o' Ballochmyle"

Mr Speir

VI. The Memory of Jean Armour

The Croupier

Song. "O' a' the airts"

Mr Spence

Violin solo. "O Nannie, wilt thou gang wi' me?"

Mr Carrick

VII. Deceased Members

Mr Aitken

Song. "The Land o' the Leal"

Mr T Gray

VIII. Sir Walter Scott

Mr Graham

Song. "Ye Mariners of England"

Mr R Gray

Song. "Jenny's Bawbee"

Mr Buchanan

Recitation. [ ] at the [ ]

Mr Thornton

IX. Dramatic Literature, with Shakespeare

Mr Hastings

Song. "Blow, blow thou winter winds"

Mr T Gray

Song. "My Sweetheart when a boy"

Mr Speir

Recitation. "Tam O'Shanter"

Mr Buchanan

X. Land o' Cakes

Mr Malcolm

Recitation. "The Haggis"

Mr Macnicol

Song. " Mary o' Argyll "

Mr Speir

XI. Burns Clubs a' the warl' o'er

Mr Hamilton

Song. "Annie Laurie"

Mr T Gray

Song. "Mary Morrison"

Mr Spence

XII. Irish Poets

Mr Higgins

Song. "Nora, the pride o' Kildare"

Mr Speir

XIII. Young Members

Dr Brown

Song. "True till Death"

Mr T Gray


Mr Gordon

Piano. Some Scotch Airs

Mr Thornton

XIV. Our Guests

Mr J Brown

Song. "Come under my plaidie"

Mr Buchanan


Mr Buchanan

XV. Host & Hostess

Mr Ewen Mackay


Mr Macnicol

XVI. The Chairman

The Croupier

XVII. The Croupier

The Chairman

"Auld Langsyne"

The Company


Members Present

John Riddet, Clydesdale Bank (Head Office), Glasgow; (Chairman) (1896)

Patrick Comrie, Factor, Waterside (Croupier) (1891)

Andrew Aitken (1874)

Andrew C Patrick (1877)

Robert Fulton (1883)

John H Hamilton (1887)

John Brown (1891)

James Graham (1893)

John Malcolm (1896)

James M McCosh (1896)

Hugh Higgins (1898)

Robert Howie (1898)

Dr W M Brown (1899)

William Carrick (1899)

Thomas Gray (1899)

Robert Gray (1902)

William Hastings (1902)

James Spence (1902)

John MacNicol (1903)

Hugh Shedden (1903)

Joseph A Wylie (1903)

New Members

James Douglass Gordon, Writer, Dalry

Harry Thornton, Law-Clerk, Dalry


John Buchanan (Mr Riddet)

John Campbell (Mr Riddet)

Robert Speir (Mr Howie)

23 Members 3 Guests