80th Anniversary


P Comrie

List of Toasts Proposed

I. The King

The Chairman

Song. "God save the King"

The Company

II. The Queen, Prince & Princess of Wales, and other Members of the Royal Family

The Chairman

III. Both Houses of Parliament

Mr Kirkhope

IV. The Imperial Forces

Mr Johnston

Song. "Scots wha ha'e"

Mr Spence


Capt John Brown

V. The Memory of Burns

The Chairman

Song. "There was a lad"

Mr Buchanan

VI. The Memory of Jean Armour

The Croupier

Song. "O' a' the airts"

Mr Hardie

Recitation. "The Haggis"

Mr Macnicol

VII. The Town and Trade of Dalry

Mr Wylie

Song. "D'ye min' the lang lang syne"

Mr Graham


Mr Andrew Aitken

Song. "The Press Gang"

Mr Robt Aitken

VIII. The Memory of Deceased Members

Mr Patrick

Song. "The Land o' the Leal"

Mr Buchanan

Song. "Flow gently, Sweet Afton"

Mr Hardie

IX. Sir Walter Scott

Mr Graham

Song. "Catrine Woods"

Mr Cunningham

Song. "Gae bring tae me etc"

Mr Cunningham

Recitation. "Tam O'Shanter"

Mr Buchanan

X. Dramatic Literature with Shakespeare

Mr Houston


Mr Thornton

XI. The Land o' Cakes

Mr Couper

Song. "Scotland Yet"

Mr Spence

XII. Song-Writers

Mr Gordon

Song. "Annie Laurie"

Mr Hardie

XIII. Burns Clubs a' the Warl' o'er

Mr J Brown

Song. "The Pale Young Curate"

Mr R Aitken

XIV. Irish Poets

Dr Brown

Song. "The Irish Emigrant"

Mr Cunningham

XV. Young Members

Mr Riddet


Mr Buchanan

XVI. Our Guests

Mr Hastings

Song. "For they are jolly good fellows"

The Company


Mr McCosh

XVII. The Chairman

The Croupier, who made feeling reference to the lately-deceased Mrs Alex Willison, Easterhill, so often the subject of a toast, as the "Haggis-Maker", at these meetings



XIX. The Croupier

The Chairman

"Auld Langsyne"

The Company


Members Present

Patrick Comrie, Factor, Waterside (Chairman) (1891)

Hugh Higgins (Croupier) (1898)

Andrew Aitken (1874)

Andrew C Patrick (1877)

George Kirkhope (1883)

David Johnston (1886)

John H Hamilton (1887)

John Brown (1891)

James Graham (1893)

John Riddet (1896)

George Houston (1898)

Robert Howie (1898)

Dr W M Brown (1899)

William Hastings (1902)

James Spence (1902)

David Couper (1903)

John MacNicol (1903)

Joseph A Wylie (1903)

James D Gordon (1904)

Harry Thornton (1904)

New Members

John Buchanan, Bridgend Mills, Dalry

John Campbell, Manager, Doggartland Mill, Dalry


Robert Aitken, Cross, Dalry, guest of Mr Kirkhope

Archibald Crawford, Ardrossan (Mr Hastings)

Alex Cunningham, Blair Iron Works (Mr Riddet)

Archibald Hardie, Glasgow (Mr Houston)

James Harvie, Dalry (Mr Houston)

James McCosh, Clydesdale Bank, Dalry (Mr Wylie)

22 Members 6 Guests