81st Anniversary


H Higgins

List of Toasts Proposed

I. The King

The Chairman

Song. "God save the King"

The Company

II. The Queen, Prince & Princess of Wales, and other Members of the Royal Family

The Chairman

III. Both Houses of Parliament

Mr Wylie

Song. "Mary Morrison"

Mr Cunningham

IV. The Imperial Forces

Mr Riddet

Song. "Rule Britannia"

The Company


Col Gow

Song. "The Lea Rig"

Mr Campbell

V. The Memory of Burns

The Chairman

Song. "There was a lad"

Mr Cunningham

Song. "The Lass o' Ballochmyle"

Mr Gordon

VI. The Memory of Jean Armour

The Croupier

Song. "O' a' the airts"

Mr Spence

VII. The Town and Trade of Dalry

Mr Wylie

Song. "Sailing sailing &c"

Mr Gray


Mr D Howie

Song. "The Pressgang"

Mr Robt Aitken

VIII. The Memory of Deceased Members [Notice was taken of the recent demise of Mr Robert Montgomerie - a donor of the Club - vide 1901)

Mr A Aitken

Song. "The Land o' the Leal" (violin)

Mr Cunningham

Song. "Maxwellton Braes"

Mr Shedden

IX. Sir Walter Scott

Mr Graham

Recitation. "The Haggis"

Mr Macnicol

X. Dramatic Literature with Shakespeare

Dr Brown

Story. "At Ormskirk"

Mr Hastings

XI. The Land o' Cakes

Mr Graham

XII. Burns Clubs

Mr Gray

Song. "For they are jolly good fellows"

The Company

XIII. British Novelists

Mr Campbell

Violin selections

Mr Carrick

XIV. Young Members

Col Gow


Mr Cunningham

Song. "The Pale Young Curate"

Mr R Aitken

XV. Mine Host

The Chairman


Mr McKellar

XVI. The Chairman

The Croupier

Song. "Moriar-i-tee"

Mr D Howie

XVII. The Croupier

The Chairman

"Auld Langsyne"

The Company

 Mr Thornton accompanied songs on the piano

Members Present

Hugh Higgins, Merchant; (Chairman) (1898)

George Houston, Artist; (Croupier) (1898)

Andrew Aitken (1874)

George Kirkhope (1883)

John Gordon (1886)

David Johnston (1886)

John Gow (1887)

John H Hamilton (1887)

Patrick Comrie (1891)

James Graham (1893)

John Riddet (1896)

James McCosh (1896)

David Howie (1898)

Robert Howie (1898)

Dr W M Brown (1899)

William Carrick (1899)

Donald Campbell (1900)

William Hastings (1902)

James Spence (1902)

Robert Gray (1902)

John MacNicol (1903)

Hugh Shedden (1903)

Joseph A Wylie (1903)

Harry Thornton (1904)

New Members

Robert Aitken, Engineer, Cross, Dalry

Alexander Cunningham,Teacher, Blair Iron Works


John Campbell (Irvine), Guest of Chair

J O Baird (Glengarnock) (Mr McCosh)

26 Members 2 Guests