84th Anniversary


Dr W Brown

List of Toasts Proposed

I. The King

The Chairman

Song. "God save the King"

The Company

II. The Queen, Prince & Princess of Wales, and other Members of the Royal Family

The Chairman

Song. "God bless the Prince of Wales"

The Company

III. Both Houses of Parliament

Mr Hamilton

IV. The Imperial Forces

Mr Graham

Song. "Red, White, and Blue"



Capt Willison

Song. "Scots wha ha'e"

Mr Spence

Song. "Big Ben"

Mr Thomson

V. The Memory of Burns

The Chairman

Song. "There was a lad"

Mr Spence

VI. The Memory of Jean Armour

The Croupier

Song. "O' a' the airts" (W C - violin)

Mr Walker

VII. Deceased Members

Mr Aitken

Song. "The land o' the leal"

Messrs Buchanan & Shedden

VIII. Sir Walter Scott

Mr Higgins

Song. "The Glenwharple Highlanders"

Mr Willison

IX. Dramatic Literature, with Shakespeare

Mr Kirkhope

Song. "Scotland Yet"

Mr Spence

Recitation. "Gordon Highlanders at Dargai"

Mr Macnicol

X. Land o' Cakes

Mr Buchanan


Mr Fulton

Song. "Scotland Yet"

Mr Spence

Recitation. "The Haggis"

Mr Macnicol

XI. Song-Writers

Mr Houston

Song. "The Village Blacksmith"

Mr Thomson

XII. Burns Clubs

Mr Campbell

Duet. "O wert thou in the cauld blast" (Mendelssohn's)

Messrs Spence & Carrick

XIII. Irish Poets

Dr Walker

XIV. British Novelists

Mr Baird

Readings from Shakespeare

Mr Fulton

XV. New Members

Mr Patrick

Song. "Jenny's Bawbee"

Mr Buchanan


Mr Walker & Mr Harvie

XVI. The Chairman

The Croupier


The Chairman

XVII. The Croupier

The Chairman


The Croupier

"Auld Langsyne"

The Company

 Mr Waters, Parish Church Organist, accompanied the songs on the Piano


Members Present

Dr Brown, Townend Ho. - son of late Dr Brown, Saltcoats and son-in-law of late D Brown, Pres 1875, q.v. (Chairman) (1899)

William Carrick (Croupier) (1899)

Andrew Aitken (1874)

Andrew Patrick (1877)

William Thomson (1877)

Robert Fulton (1883)

George Kirkhope (1883)

David Johnston (1886)

John H Hamilton (1887)

John Brown (1891)

Patrick Comrie (1891)

James Graham (1893)

John Riddet (1896)

Hugh Higgins (1898)

George Houston (1898)

David Howie (1898)

Donald Campbell (1900)

James Spence (1902)

John MacNicol (1903)

Hugh Shedden (1903)

John Buchanan (1905)

Dr Walker (1907)

J O Baird (1908)

Hugh Cunningham (1908)

New Members

John W G Willison

James W Walker, Merchant

James Harvie


Neil Cosh, Guest of Mr Campbell

27 Members 1 Guest