83rd Anniversary


D Howie

List of Toasts Proposed

I. The King

The Chairman

Song. "God save the King"

The Company

II. The Queen, Prince & Princess of Wales, and other Members of the Royal Family

The Chairman

III. Both Houses of Parliament

Mr Aitken

Song. "Big Ben"

Mr Thomson

IV. The Imperial Forces

Mr Couper

Song. "Rule Britannia"

Mr Neil


Col Gow

V. The Memory of Burns

The Chairman

Song. "There was a lad"

Mr Spence

VI. The Memory of Jean Armour

The Croupier

Song. "O' a' the airts"

Mr Spence

VII. Deceased Members

Mr Johnston

Song. "The land o' the leal"

Messrs Neil & Carrick

Song. "When we were boys together"

Mr Thomson

VIII. Sir Walter Scott

Mr Gordon

IX. Land o' Cakes

Mr Hastings

Song. "Scotland Yet"

Mr Spence

Recitation. "Gordon Highlanders at Dargai"

Mr Macnicol

X. The Song-Writers

Mr Campbell

Recitation. "The Haggis"

Mr Macnicol

XI. Burns Clubs

Mr Brown

Song. "The Village Blacksmith"

Mr Thomson

XII. Irish Poets

Mr Macnicol

Song. Mixed

Mr Thornton

Selections on Violin

Mr Carrick

XIII. British Novelists

Mr Hamilton

XIV. New Members

Mr Johnston

Song. "D'ye min' the lang lang syne"

Mr Graham


Mr Baird

XV. The Chairman

The Croupier


The Chairman

XVI. The Croupier

The Chairman

XVII. The Host

Mr Patrick


Mr McKellar

"Auld Langsyne"

The Company

 Mr Thornton accompanied songs on Piano


Members Present

David Howie, Yarn Merchant; (Chairman) (1898)

Dr Brown (Croupier) (1899)

Andrew Aitken (1874)

Andrew Patrick (1877)

William Thomson (1877)

David Johnston (1886)

John H Hamilton (1887)

John Gow (1887)

John Brown (1891)

Patrick Comrie (1891)

James Graham (1893)

John Riddet (1896)

George Houston (1898)

Robert Howie (1898)

William Carrick (1899)

Donald Campbell (1900)

Rev J D Glass (1900)

William Hastings (1902)

Robert Gray (1902)

James Spence (1902)

David Couper (1903)

John MacNicol (1903)

Harry Thornton (1904)

J D Gordon (1904)

Dr Walker (1907)

New Members

J O Baird, Glengarnock Iron Works

Hugh Cunningham, Cabinet Works

Robert Neil, Cabinetmaker


James Harvie, Dalry, Guest of Chair

28 Members 1 Guest