101st Anniversary


22nd January, 1926

W Conn

List of Toasts Proposed

I. The King

Mr Wm Conn, Chairman

"God save the King"

The Company

II. The Queen, Prince of Wales and other Members of the Royal Family

The Chairman

Solo & Chorus "God bless the Prince of Wales"

Mr Fairley

III. The Imperial Forces

Col Gow

Chorus "Rule Britannia"

The Company


Mr W N Pratt

IV. Houses of Parliament

Mr Kirkhope

Song "Ye Banks and Braes"

Mr D Tait Jnr

V. The Memory of Burns

The Chairman

Song "There was a lad"


Recitation "To a mouse"

Mr John MacNicol

VI. The Memory of Jean Armour

Mr Robt. Holburn, Croupier

Song "The Lass o' Ballochmyle"

Mr W W Boyd

VII. Burns Clubs

Mr W Wilson

Chorus "Jolly Good Fellows"


Recitation "Burns"

Mr Thos C Tait

VIII. Sir Walter Scott

Mr D Tait Jnr.

Song "O whistle and I'll came to ye, my lad"

Mr W W Boyd

Song "My heart is sair"

Mr John Fairley

Song "Jessie"

Mr John Fairley

IX. Land o' Cakes

Mr Geo. Houston

Song "Stars up above"

Mr William Allan

Song "Lea Rig"

Mr D Tait Jnr.

Song "A wee drappie o't"

The Croupier

X. Our Guests

Mr John Fairley

Recitation "Wee Scotch Nicht"

Mr John MacNicol

Reply - Original Poem

Mr Thos C Tait


Dr Brown

Song "Her spinning wheel"

Mr Fairley

Song "When I was a boy at school"

Mr W W Boyd

XI. Deceased Members

Mr John MacNicol

Song "The Land o' the Leal"

The Company

XII. The Chairman

The Croupier

XIII. The Croupier

The Chairman

"Auld Lang Syne"

The Company


Members Present

George Kirkhope (1883)

John Gow (1887)

George Houston (1898)

Robert Howie (1898)

Dr W Mackenzie Brown (1899)

John Macnicol (1903)

Hugh Shedden (1903)

James D Gordon (1904)

Hugh Cunningham (1908)

James Harvie (1909)

William W Boyd (1911)

Wm Conn (1912)

Robert Holburn (1914)

William Wilson (1916)

John Fairley (1916)

Alexander Archibald (1919)

William N Pratt (1919)

John McDonald (1920)

Daniel Tait Jnr (1924)

William Allan (1924)

Thomas Tait, Guest of D Tait Jnr.

19 Members 1 Guest