99th Anniversary


25th January, 1924

D J Aitken

List of Toasts Proposed

I. The King

The Chairman

"God save the King"

The Company

II. The Queen, the Queen Mother, Prince of Wales and other Members of the Royal Family

The Chairman


Mr John Fairley

III. The Imperial Forces

Mr W N Pratt

Chorus "Jolly Good Fellows"

The Company


Mr W Wilson

Song "Scots wha hae"

Mr W W Boyd

IV. Houses of Parliament

Mr James Jackson

V. The Memory of Burns

The Chairman

Song "There was a lad"

Dr Angus

VI. The Memory of Jean Armour

The Croupier

Song "O' a' the airts"

Mr Hugh Shedden

VII. Burns Clubs

Mr John McCartney

Song "Maxwellton Braes"

Mr Hugh Shedden

VIII. Sir Walter Scott

Mr W W Boyd

Recitation "Her Annuity"

Mr Geo. Kirkhope

IX. Land o' Cakes

Mr N H Cosh

Song "Catrine Woods"

Mr A R Cunningham

X. Song Writers

Mr Charles Pickles

Song "Jessie"

Mr A R Cunningham


Mr D Tait Jnr.

XI. Our Guests

Mr G S Robb

Song "Duncan Gray"

Mr G N Forsyth


Dr Angus

XII. Young Members

Mr A C Patrick

Recitation "The Twa Dogs"

Mr W C Conn


Mr D Tait Jnr


Dr Brown

XIII. Deceased Members

Mr Andrew Aitken

Song "Land o' the Leal"

Mr Fairley

XIV. Croupier

The Chairman

XV. Chairman

The Croupier

"Auld Lang Syne"

The Company


Members Present

David Jeffrey Aitken (Chairman) (1912)

William Conn (Croupier) (1912)

Andrew Aitken (1874)

Andrew C Patrick (1877)

George Kirkhope (1883)

Patrick Comrie (1891)

George Houston (1898)

Robert Howie (1898)

Dr W Mackenzie Brown (1899)

Hugh Shedden (1903)

James D Gordon (1904)

Hugh Cunningham (1908)

James Harvie (1909)

Neil H Cosh (1910)

William W Boyd (1911)

James Jackson (1913)

Andrew Henderson (1915)

Charles Pickles (1915)

William Wilson (1916)

John Fairley (1916)

Alexander Archibald (1919)

William N Pratt (1919)

John MacDonald (1920)

George S Robb (1920)

John McCartney (1923)

George N Forsyth (1923)

Daniel Tait Jnr (1924)

Dr James Angus, Guest of Mr Archibald

James Walker, Guest of Mr Wilson

28 Members 2 Guests